The heroes of Olympus:The Lost Hero


jump to comments

The_Lost_Hero_210

Jason has a problem. He doesn’t remember anything before
waking up in a bus full of kids on a field trip. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper, and a best friend named Leo. They’re all students at a boarding school for “bad kids.” What did Jason do to end up here? And where is here, exactly?

Piper has a secret.
Her father has been missing for three days, ever since she had that terrifying nightmare about his being in trouble. Piper doesn’t understand her dream, or why her boyfriend suddenly doesn’t recognize her. When a freak storm hits during the school trip, unleashing strange creatures and whisking her, Jason, and Leo away to some place called Camp Half-Blood, she has a feeling she’s going to find out.

Leo has a way with tools.
When he sees his cabin at Camp Half-Blood, filled with power tools and machine parts, he feels right at home. But there’s weird stuff, too—like the curse everyone keeps talking about, and some camper who;s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist that each of them—including Leo—is related to a god. Does this have anything to do with Jason’s amnesia, or the fact that Leo keeps seeing ghosts?

Title: The Heroes of Olympus:The Lost Hero
Author: Rick Riordan
Published by: Miramax Books[1]
Puffin Books, Disney-Hyperion
Publication date: October 12 2010 (hard cover)
Genre: Fantasy,Greek mythology,YA
Other info:
wikias-
series-Yes
ratings-

4.4/5·Goodreads

4/5·Common Sense Media

4.5/5.My rating
First things first the Percy Jackson Series was better.
Here’s why.
The Writing
Honestly I expected more ,much much more.Reading from Percy’s point of view in the first book series  was way more interesting and just more fun.I had something to smile about each page.When I was reading this book  I was reading it more ..passively yeah that’s the word.I would read passively till I got to an interesting part.Of course there are still things I love about the way the book was written (my rating is still quite high!) like the way the author (Rick Riordan) put in the Greek Mythology and the way he jumps right into the book and leaves you wanting to know more also  he captured each character very well.
The characters 
Don’t get me wrong I love them (most of them) but maybe its the way we wrote the book in the third person point of view but they didn’t seem as ….interesting.I use this word very lightly because they are interesting (Leo with is his powers and piper with her secret and Jason who is well Jason)  just reading in the third person point of view isn’t interesting.And the Roman camp is not nearly as cool as Camp Half-blood.
tumblr_m0yaahCd0t1r5kem8.gif
Another thing was the budding relationship of Jason and Piper.The way their relationship started felt a bit forced.Because of the mist messing with piper mind making her think Jason was her boyfriend Piper made it seem like they had to get together ASAP so it would be like all her ‘memories’ WHAT?Also Jason just bothered me.Don’t ask why he just did.
The plot
Kudos to Rick Riordan for being so creative …so ingenious in coming up with this its nearly up to the standards of J.k Rowling (nearly).The world of Percy Jackson is just amazing to read about and honestly every day I wish I was part of it (and I’m still waiting for my Howgwarts letter)Rick Riordan captures everything perfectly. That’s why I gave this book a 4.5 :)You deserve it Rick
Overall:
Good read.I definitely recommend reading the ‘Percy Jackson’ series first though because it makes this book more interesting and just BETTER.You can laugh along at all their inside jokes.I did take a lot longer to read this than the Percy Jackson series it just wasn’t as good.
Note:The rest of the book reviews in both series is coming right up I just thought I’d put the first book in each series first.
Read my review of:
comment down below whether your going to read the series or not.If you read the series what are your thoughts on the characters.

 

back to top

Leave a Reply

